SW structure of Keysight instrument plug-ins

Hi Tappers

I am studying OpenTab and have the SDK up running. I would try to see how real-world resources are implemented. I tried to install ‘X-Series Signal Analyzers Spectrum Analyzer Commands(A.06.06v5)’ with success. Then I would look at the source code. I looked in Keysight.OpenTap.Plugins.ScpiNetInstrument.Ag90x0_SA_A_06_06v5.sln with Visual Studio

I don’t understand how this resource is working. There are some extreme large files (395000+ lines :blush:). But nothing implementing the instrument base class.

Can I find some general documentation for these resources somewhere? Or can somebody explain how this instrument driver is made at a high level?

Br, Torben

3 Likes

Hi Torben,

Welcome to the forum! :smile:

The ScpiNetInstruments are auto-generated instrument drivers, so might not be the best reference for understanding how instruments are handled in OpenTAP.

The Developer Guide gives a high-level introduction on Instruments:

Some examples:

BR
Witold

1 Like

Hi @tch11 welcome! On top of what @witold.pietraszek mentioned there are also a few videos that go in to to more detail:

Thanks.

Now I tried to have a look at a power supply driver. This was also an autogenerated type. Here I could find the class implementing instrument base class (6500+ lines of code) and now I understand these types of drivers.

In my world it is a must to use instrument drivers. 1. They isolate code that are specific for that instrument, always good to make logical separation of code. 2. They should make the steps smaller and simpler when steps do not need to handle instrument details. 3. They enable instrument interchangeability. The problem with these autogenerated drivers is the do not meet any of these requirements. They just provide a new way of writing SCPI Command. I will not recommend to using them.
From a grumpy old man.

1 Like